Waqt, India, 13 January 1965

Waqt (Hindi: वक्त, English: Time) is a 1965 Indian film directed by Yash Chopra. It made it onto the BFI's long list of films in consideration for their top ten of Indian films award.[1] It was produced by B.R. Chopra and starred an ensemble cast including Sunil Dutt, Raaj Kumar, Shashi Kapoor, Sadhana, Balraj Sahni, Madan Puri, Sharmila Tagore, Achala Sachdev and Rehman. Although director Yash Chopra committed many mistakes in the direction, but still the Filmfare awarded him with the 'Best Director's award.

  • Genre: Thriller
  • Runtime: 206 Minutes
  • Director: Yash Raj Chopra
  • Awards: Filmfare Best Director Award-Yash Chopra


It pioneered the concept of films with multiple stars, starting a trend followed by other films.The film took the top spot at the box office in 1965. The plot of this movie re-introduced the lost and reunite formula in Bollywood, originally featured in the 1943 Ashok Kumar, Mumtaz Shanti starrer Kismat (fate). A happy family separated by Waqt (time), goes through a series of trials trying to reunite. The film was later remade into the Telugu as Bhale Abbayilu (1969) and in Malayalam as Kolilakkam (1981).


The film contains the popular Hindi song Aage Bhi Jaane Na Tu sung by Asha Bhosle, and Ae Meri Zohra Jabeen, sung by Manna Dey, composed by Ravi and picturised on Balraj Sahni and Achala Sachdev.