Teen Kanya

Teen Kanya, India, 05 May 1961

  • Genre: Thriller
  • Runtime: 173 Minutes
  • Director: Satyajit Ray
  • Awards: National Film Awards 1961: President's Silver Medal for Best Feature Film in Bengali - Samapti


Teen Kanya is a 1961 Indian Bengali anthology film directed by Satyajit Ray, and based upon short stories by Rabindranath Tagore. The title means "Three Girls", and the film's original Indian release contained three stories. However, the international release of the film contained only two stories, missing out the second ("Monihara: The Lost Jewels"). This version was released on VHS in 1997 under the title Two Daughters. However, there are now DVD versions available that contain all three films.